Q about teaching gravity.

aaabha

Q about teaching gravity

Hello

I came across a secondary school physics teacher recently who said that he explicitely teaches his pupils that gravity is not a force. His reason for this is that gravity is the field and weight is the name given to the force of gravity. This is giving me quite a headache for the following reasons:

Pros of teacher's argument:

1) He's right, as in nothing he said was factually incorrect.

2) Looking at the big picture, its kind of good that the teacher had a deeper knowledge of the subject than most science teachers.

Cons of teacher's argument:

1) He's just trying to be a smart-rse. I have a physics degree and no-one from my school teachers right up to university lecturers (who listed gravity as a fundamental force) has seen the need to pick apart the language of gravity in such a way. Thus I feel gravity being called a force is accepted by everyone else Ive ever met so why would the teacher be so picky?

So the questions Id like answered is does the teacher have a point and more importantly, should he be teaching kids this point? Is it an important distinction like weight/mass or substance/material, or is it just about the English language?

Hahaha you said he was secondry school teacher.. I believe there it should be kept more simple, for the reasons that when I got to my A-levels I was told all that was taught to me in GCSE (secondary school) was a lie. So I think he should stop being so formal with his students and keep it as a force.. Most teachers dont try to smarten up the look of it. So why should he. I think its just another name for it like man, male, men and Female, woman, etc.. I dont think what he has said is wrong.. Just it is not really needed in his classes. But maybe he is just highly spoken.

Hope this is helpful.