Preparation for university

TimParadox

Hello guys and gals,

I'm pretty new to these forums, and wanted to ask a question. Three years ago I graduated secondary school in electromechanics. Nowadays I'm working at a major chemical company, earning good money. So, all is well. Not really.

I'd prefer to live my own life, and not my father's. I'd love to get at least a bachelor's degree in biotechnology, or a related field, in my pursuit to contribute to research into anti-aging (even being someone's assistant would satisfy me). The problem is, during my time in secondary school, very little knowledge was offered to me about biology, physics, or chemistry, and my calculus is also rather rusty. I know that I have to get my skill in those fields to acceptable levels before even attempting attending university, or I know I'd fail badly. The university I had in mind states that a thorough understanding of what you were thought in secondary school would suffice to begin with.

So this is my quest: getting my skill up to the required level. The question is: how? What kind of book or courses or whatever would you recommend? Keep in mind that my current skill level is extremely limited at best - but I'm willing to work hard, and know what I want.

Wow I didn't realize how different other places were when it comes to education. In the states you don't actually graduate secondary school (our high school right?) in anything, you just graduate high school :D I wouldn't hesitate to go into any bachelor degree program from high school, even taking no pertinent classes in my major, but I don't know if that's helpful to you where ever you're at.

Also, as far as I know, there isn't much calculus in Biology. There's some stats I guess, but as far as I know calculus is very physics math (someone correct me if I'm wrong -- I often am).