Good introductory books for Quantum Mechanics?

Chippsz

I quite like Schwabl's Quantum Mechanics. It covers a lot of important ground.

I didn't expect that the books are translated to English. I also did like the books (can't remember why, though) and they also did have a very good reputation for preparing for final exams amongst my fellow students. But looking at it I don't know if it possibly introduces too many concepts and terms too fast for a complete beginner.

Considering I feel like seeing a lot of book recommendation threads I wonder if it made sense to compile an sfn-recommendation list (of serious textbooks) with a short comment about the books and put it as a sticky. But then, people could as well browse the user reviews on Amazon.

But looking at it I don't know if it possibly introduces too many concepts and terms too fast for a complete beginner.

This to would be my worry for a complete beginner. Once you have some understanding of quantum mechanics it is a great book.

It is good to differentiate from Introductory and Undergraduate texts. If you have never studied QM before an intoductory book would be a good read before an Undergraduate textbook.

Introductory Text

Eisberg, Robert; Resnick, Robert (1985). Quantum Physics of Atoms, Molecules, Solids, Nuclei, and Particles (2nd ed.). Wiley. ISBN 0-471-87373-X.

Bohm, David (1989). Quantum Theory. Dover Publications. ISBN 0-486-65969-0.

Undergraduate Texts

Used by most major universities

Griffiths, David J. (2004). Introduction to Quantum Mechanics (2nd ed.). Prentice Hall. ISBN 0-13-805326-X.

Liboff, Richard L. (2004). Introductory Quantum Mechanics. Addison-Wesley. ISBN 978-0805387148. The spiderman book

Shankar, R. (1994). Principles of Quantum Mechanics. Springer. ISBN 0-306-44790-8.

Advanced texts.