Speed of sound/light

Guest Bigyin

Guest Bigyin

1. we know the speed of sound/light but do we know why it is that speed?

2. is the speed of light allways the same anywere? i know there cant be any sound in space so why does it not affect light?

3. speed of sound and light is found out by D=V*T (as in time 60s in a min 60 mins in a hr etc) but what if we are wrong what if there is 64s in a min cause our time scale is not right well i dont think it is cause every year is not allways the same cause of a leap year if so would that not **** up a few things?

im a science newb so thats why im asking these questions so i might be talking a lot of shit please say to me "u dum ****" if needed :)

1. Sound is the moving of atoms, hence it's varied speed in different materials! Light on the other hand is eletromagnetic and consist of photons which always travels in a constant speed of 300km/s (if my memory serves me right) No mather form which Refernce plane u messuare!

2. read answer on 1.

3. Well we have defined time this way.. 1 sec i 1 sec. no more no less... but acording too Special relativity that clock measures time differenlty in different speeds.. so u got a point.. but light still travels att C when u travel at 0,8C for exampel, so for light the only affect is that u notice time to go faster on earth when traveling at 0,8c

There are meny threads with the same or alike questions so please go and read them to for more answers =)

2. is the speed of light allways the same anywere? i know there cant be any sound in space so why does it not affect light?

Light doesn't depend on any medium for transmission, however its speed can be affected by the medium it is travelling in; for example, light bending in a prism (or entering/exiting water, or any other medium transition) is due to its changing speed.

2. read answer on 1.

Incorrect in some places (and you rather overcomplicate q3)

but what if we are wrong what if there is 64s in a min