Vectors...

Externet

Been a long time since the university years, no books on hand, and with terminology in another language, this may be hard to explain/ask...

From a fixed point of view, say the tip of your tv antenna at the roof;

-The street hydrant is at a fixed direction; elevation and azimuth. Do not care about the distance.

-The sun is at another direction; elevation and azimuth.

How is the (bisectriz) bisecting vector elevation and azimuth calculated ? Simply sums divided by 2 ?

Transform to cartesian, normalize the vectors, sum the entries for x-, y- and z-coordinate , convert back to angular coordinates.

You supposedly don't want to get an angle of 179° as a bisection for two vectors with 0° and 358°, respectively.

i'm just getting started with vectors but maybe this is what you're looking for?

[math]cos\theta[/math]=[math]\frac{\stackrel{\rightarrow}{A}\cdot\stackrel{\rightarrow}{B}}{\left|\stackrel{\rightarrow}{A}\right|\left|\stackrel{\rightarrow}{B}\right|}[/math]

as i said i'm a beginner but i don't think you need the actual length to the sun or hydrant if you use unit vectors.

Yes. That was it. :)

...And how can I obtain the azimuth and elevation vectors of the sun from the observer

it depends how accurate you want to be. you may be able to get away with using a compass for azimuth, and a protractor and a plumb bob for elevation (don't stare at the sun of course)

i'm just getting started with vectors but maybe this is what you're looking for?

[math]cos\theta[/math]=[math]\frac{\stackrel{\rightarrow}{A}\cdot\stackrel{\rightarrow}{B}}{\left|\stackrel{\rightarrow}{A}\right|\left|\stackrel{\rightarrow}{B}\right|}[/math]

as i said i'm a beginner but i don't think you need the actual length to the sun or hydrant if you use unit vectors.

That's for finding the angle between two vectors, the unit vector is defined as [math]\hat{\bf v}=\frac{1}{\bf|v|}\bf v[/math] it looks similar, but has a different use.