biology vs chemistry and physics

foofighter

i'm interested in understanding the different skills needed to succeed in these 3 natural sciences respectively. just from taking a few 101 courses at college, it seems biology is more rote memorization, while chem and physics are heavily based on critical thinking and problem solving. does this hold true at all, and if so, how far up the ladder towards more and more advanced study does this trend continue? is the division (if there is one) apparent in doctoral and postdoctoral learning as well? not to slight any biologists of course, but it just seems that chemistry, and especially physics, are a lot more demanding/intellectually challenging. or is it not a matter of one subject demanding more than the other, rather perhaps each subject simply demands a different set of skills, and one skill set isn't really superior to another in an objective light? any feedback is greatly appreciated = )

Being a biologist myself, I'll put my bias out in the open and easily admit that I dislike the idea that chemistry and physics require more "smarts" than biology. That being established, let's move on: