Laser diffraction through a single slit

aommaster

Hi guys!

The diffraction pattern of a double slit when a laser is passed is easily explained my superposition (interference). How do you explain the very distinct sections of light when a laser is passed through a single slit? Surely it can't interfere with itself?

Also, if it is a possibility, scientists fired single electrons through a slit, one after the other, with a time gap in between, removing any chance that they may interfere with themselves, but still, the same pattern was produced. Why does that happen?

I think this has to do with quantum physics, and at the moment, I am fairly new to it, so, please try and use simple language, for my brain cannot handle extreme physics :D

Thanks alot guys!

Hi guys!

The diffraction pattern of a double slit when a laser is passed is easily explained my superposition (interference). How do you explain the very distinct sections of light when a laser is passed through a single slit? Surely it can't interfere with itself?

Also' date=' if it is a possibility, scientists fired single electrons through a slit, one after the other, with a time gap in between, removing any chance that they may interfere with themselves, but still, the same pattern was produced. Why does that happen?

I think this has to do with quantum physics, and at the moment, I am fairly new to it, so, please try and use simple language, for my brain cannot handle extreme physics :D

Thanks alot guys![/quote']

The first bit I can't remember :|

The second question:

If you fire single electrons at a double slit you WILL get an interfearence pattern appear on your detector after sending many of these electrons through. This is because the electron (the largest particle this has been demonstrated with is C60) has wave like characterists, and is therefore appearing to travel through BOTH slits, and tehrefore does infact interfear with intself. This is due to the wave-particle duality principle...