Undergraduate network in materials science -- potential for scoop or collaboration?

HEK-293-DDR1b

Hi all,

I am a biochemistry premed undergraduate entering my third year in the fall. Presently, I study at the Division of Nephrology at Vanderbilt University Medical Center where I have interned for the summer (hence, inspiration for the name "HEK-293-DDR1b"; we study kidney fibrosis!😉)

Anyway, I write to address my concerns about undergraduate collaboration in science across institutions amongst other students and faculty. My undergraduate studies are at a small liberal arts college. Though, nonetheless, I have been able to write two successfully funded grant proposals within the field of wood-based translational materials science. While the lab resources are minimal (yet still effective), I am currently a one-person research group. I have acquired results for a poster presentation in the fall, but sometime within the next few years or so I would like to publish in an undergraduate journal. Obviously, I will need a few team members to help assist with that endeavor, especially as I cannot generate the research output at the institution I attend.

Here's my series of questions: Is it advisable to connect with other students, professors, and research faculty at other institutions (network via LinkedIn, etc.) to facilitate the generation of research, data analysis, and science writing? Would I make my intellectual property, so to speak, vulnerable to getting scooped? --especially as I do not have the resources to generate a mass research output as these R1 schools can? Am I being too overly protective of my work (I worked really hard to get this far, I just don't want to lose everything)?