Increasing Viscosity of low concentration acid

Pashtet

Hi everyone,

I am looking for a bit of help with a chemistry question. I am doing a lot of metallographic etching (weld cross sections) and are currently using two different diluted acids:

1. For steel metallographic samples - 10% ammonium persulfate in water

2. For aluminum metallographic samples - 10% NaOH in water

Both liquids are very thin (low viscosity) and run off the samples so I have to constantly reapply the acid. I would like to make them thicker (e.g. paint or gel viscosity level). I was thinking of using some off the shelf water thickeners like gelatin. However, I do not know if this will create any unexpected reactions. I do not remember much from the high school/university chemistry courses (I am a mechanical engineer by training). Can somebody help me to predict what reactions I am going to see or suggest some other thickeners? 

I would really appreciate any suggestions,

Thanks!

Can I start with a small correction ?

Neither of the compounds you mention are acids!

Ammonium persulphate is a moderately strong oxidising agent

Sodium hydroxide is moderately strong alkali.

Not that I am concerned for your etching processes but it could make a significant difference to your thickener.

I'm not sure about gelatin, so I would suggest thegood old fashioned method of try a small amount and see.

But I would also suggest perhaps some alternatives,

Gloy  that old fashioned gloopy paper glue/paste.

Perhaps a starch based thickener (mashed potato, cornflour etc ) rather than a protein based one (proteins are pH sensitive)

18 minutes ago, studiot said:

Can I start with a small correction ?

Neither of the compounds you mention are acids!

Ammonium persulphate is a moderately strong oxidising agent

Sodium hydroxide is moderately strong alkali.

Not that I am concerned for your etching processes but it could make a significant difference to your thickener.