The origin of zero

• 2 months later...

The Babylonians used a symboy as a placeholder long before 1700 BC, it's more like 3000 BC. The Greeks later used a round symbol to note the gap.

In 642 AD the Moslem's destroyed the great library of Alexandria. Most of the ancient Greek mathematics was lost, but a few books survived.

Later the Hindu's in India realised zero was a number in it's own right. Years earlier Aristotle had said it could not be a number as dividing something by zero was incomprehensible. Brahmagupta used the division of something by zero to be a definition of infinity.

It was India who also made the counting system we use today.

• 4 weeks later...

Oh me, oh my...

A teacher actually said 0/0 = 1 ?

At first I thought Homunculus was just being rough on the teacher untill I actually read that for myself.

The other two i can understand from someone not (well ?) versed in math... but even as an elementary student I knew that was wrong as hell.

If that is the level of pre - secondary educators' intelligence, it makes you wonder. I learned more at home then i ever did in grade school anyway, but that is something I just cannot comprehend. Maybe I was just a little too trusting of my education system (naive?) to doubt their teachings.

Edit -- http://www.mathmojo.com/interestinglessons/division_by_zero/division_by_zero_1.html

is what I'm talking about.

• 7 months later...

0/0 is undefined for the same reason that any quantity is defined.

It makes a lot more sense if you just think about it for a couple of seconds. The definition of "a divided by b" is to find some number x such that b*x=a. Now consider the case 1/0 - in this case, a = 1, b = 0. so we want to find a number such that 0*x=1. But this is impossible, so 1/0 is not defined. You can use a similar argument to show that we can't define any number divided by 0.

• 7 months later...

I could be way of base here but i could not resist replying to this forum.