How thick is one sheet of paper problem !

Handsonic

Sorry, I'm new in this community, Scienceforums.net looks interesting so I JOINED !

21aws34.jpg

How to solve this !? I'm not looking for an answer I just want to know how to solve it, formulas or etc? what do I need to do, sorry if my English is bad I'm still an ESLC Student ! in 11th Grade ! correct me if I spell something wrong !

Thanks xD

By the way, I may be in the wrong site ! Because this is Science ! not Geometry ! I apologize If I cannot post Homework about other subjects !

Edited by Handsonic

Hello and welcome, handsonic.

No it is fine to post here any sort of technical question.

But surely this is beyond 11th grade?

What you are asking is the length of part of a spiral.

Can you see that the paper forms a spiral round the inner tube with total length equal to the number of sheets times the length of a sheet?

Can you tell us what sort of approximate methods you can use to find and answer?

PS Is this really 11th grade homework or a challenge of some sort?

Edited by studiot

Hello and welcome, handsonic.

No it is fine to post here any sort of technical question.

But surely this is beyond 11th grade?

What you are asking is the length of part of a spiral.

Can you see that the paper forms a spiral round the inner tube with total length equal to the number of sheets times the length of a sheet?

Can you tell us what sort of approximate methods you can use to find and answer?

PS Is this really 11th grade homework or a challenge of some sort?

Thanks for replying !

Q1: Can you see that the paper forms a spiral round the inner tube with total length equal to the number of sheets times the length of a sheet?

Yes, Of course If the paper it is 3 inches times 3 inches and they are 500 pieces of paper, it would have a total length of 1,500 inches? (Correct me in If I am wrong)

Q2: Can you tell us what sort of approximate methods you can use to find and answer?