Why does the diffraction reflection of my green LED have red in it?

Bluemoon

I was looking at the diffraction reflection of an illuminated early 1980s green LED using a CD in a dark room

and the spectrum was red-yellow-green; why?

I thought that LEDs were pure monochrome light sources.

Also, a modern blue LED had green in its spectrum.

Again, does anyone know why?

I was looking at the diffraction reflection of an illuminated early 1980s green LED using a CD in a dark room

and the spectrum was red-yellow-green; why?

I thought that LEDs were pure monochrome light sources.

Also, a modern blue LED had green in its spectrum.

Again, does anyone know why?

So what colour was it to your naked eye? I assume it was green.

What light mixes to form green, is it red and yellow?

With monitors (RGB) "Red and green mixes to form yellow". I'm interested but I'm not an expert in this topic.

Most often, Led manufacturers try to produce light over a narrow spectrum. This was certainly the case for red, yellow and green in the 1980s.

Though, the process isn't perfect. If the material's gap (or doping) gives naturally green light, the components may contain some impurity which can radiate some red through a different transition. Often also, the dopant with the desired deep level brings more deep levels, of which some may radiate. Or if the component uses a heterojunction, some carrier pairs may recombine through a secondary process.

Then, there are some Led which are designed to emit in several bands. The usual case is the white Led, in which GaN produces hard blue (405nm, almost UV) which is converted in part to red and green by phosphors to produce an approximately white light.