Practical texts for molecular biology

I have a somewhat rookie request. Recently I was offered a 2 year research position in a lab funded by the Gates foundation. My work will primarily be with a certain species of algae and working on ways to optimise output of various commercially valuable fatty acids, though there will also be some organic chem work in there somewhere for the pharmaceutical branch of the institute.

Most people who have been here long enough will know that my background is in organic chemistry. I have a decent enough understanding of the broader concepts of molecular biology and have some practical experience in genetics labs, though it was limited to RNA extraction, library preps for NGS platforms and cleaning up and running samples for Sanger sequencing. I don't really want to go into this new position unprepared or unable to contribute to my own work intellectually (though I'm sure I will pick it up as I go) and so I was hoping someone would have a good recommendation for a practical molecular biology text. I'm looking for something similar to what the Vogel text is for chemistry or like another text I've read, From Genes to Genomes, which I found invaluable for troubleshooting and modifying my experiments while doing undergraduate research.

A standard book is Molecular cloning (Sambrook, Maniatis). It offers thorough descriptions of protocols and, more importantly, the reasoning behind those. I read it cover to cover as an undergrad and highly recommend it (I am not sure what they added in the new editions, but it seems to be updated fairly often).

It has to be said that protocols for NGS have become so ridiculously easy and streamlined that I fear that those are dumbing down my students...