I need help understanding the "celestial sphere"

Johnny5

I am just beginning to try and understand things like solar day, sidereal day, apsides, aphelion, perihelion, vernal equinox, autumn equinox, winter solstice, summer solstice, celestial sphere, and a host of other terms associated with basic astronomy.

In particular, right now I am trying to understand "celestial meridian."

They spoke about zenith, and nadir. But none of the sites I went to was clear on these terms. Suppose that you are located somewhere on the equator. Send a line through your location and the center of the earth.

Is it necessarily true that where the line meets the celestial sphere above you, "zenith" and where the line below you "nadir" meets the "celestial sphere", that those two points must lie on the "celestial meridian"?

So that someone standing somewhere else on earth, would have a different celestial meridian?

Did I understand that right?

Thank you

The celestial meridian is just your line of longitude, projected above you. It intersects with the earth's axis (extend the N and S poles) and also includes a point that's directly above you.

... your line of longitude projected above you...

...the "celestial meridian" is just your line of longitude projected above you...

your line of longitude, is a meridian around the earth.

Suppose you are in Greenwich England.

Your latitude is 51 degrees north, and your longitude is zero, because you are on the earth's prime meridian.

Prime meridian is a great circle that wraps around the the earth. It passes through both earth's north pole, and earth's south pole.

Now I want to project this great circle onto the celestial sphere?

I think so...

You said that there are three points which are on the "celestial meridian"

The north pole of earth... projected up of course onto the sphere, and the south pole of earth down, and to fix it in place, the point directly above your head... which is called the zenith if I'm not mistaken.