Neuroscience

Why there isn't much research in Neuroscience when it comes to pedophilia or transsexuality?

Neuroscientist should really do more investigations of real postmprtem brains. I give a shit on these mri or fmri studies. We have to do following:

1. Microscopic analysis of those different part of the brains.

2. Epigenomic associations studies

3. Transcriptome analysis

4. Proteome analysis

5. Metablome analysis

Half of these are pretty useless post-mortem and unleashing methods onto subjects with not good idea of how to do analyses is pretty much worthless. In the end you end up chasing spurious associations. That being said, there have been numerous brain imaging analyses of transsexual people. But MRI studies are also prone to false-positives. I am no expert in this field but from what I understand the studies are somewhat inconclusive but point to small distinct neuroanatomical pattern. But with the issues of neuroimaging, it is not clear whether these finding will survive larger sample sizes (which is the major limit of the studies).

Sorry if a man says he has sexual attraction towards children and he has no story of a bad childhood or other psychiatric disorder, then there has to be something neurobiological wrong. Do you agree?

Half of these are pretty useless post-mortem and unleashing methods onto subjects with not good idea of how to do analyses is pretty much worthless. In the end you end up chasing spurious associations. That being said, there have been numerous brain imaging analyses of transsexual people. But MRI studies are also prone to false-positives. I am no expert in this field but from what I understand the studies are somewhat inconclusive but point to small distinct neuroanatomical pattern. But with the issues of neuroimaging, it is not clear whether these finding will survive larger sample sizes (which is the major limit of the studies).

Edited by Der_Neugierige

• 1 month later...