How/Where did Grasslands come from?. A

dreamer.

Hi,

How did grasslands evolve? When/Where did they come from?.

And just like grasslands evolved (example: lets say from barren land to green grass,etc.) , is it possible that nature could create something else?. What I mean by that question is, could nature produce something else? Any idea or along those lines?.

Hi dreamer,

I'm far from an expert in this but there are clues to these environs that can be ascertained when closely compared to the surrounding regions. The great American grasslands are located on the leeward side of the Rocky Mountains that are high enough to limit great amounts of rainfall, the mountains take most of this rain as snow.

So, grasslands are dependent and controlled by the amount of precipitation they receive, which is too low for extended periods for trees to establish forests. This means their rainfall is in turn highly seasonal in nature. They are between a forest and a desert in rainfall amounts. And additional to that, the grasses are able to retain the restricted amount of moisture they do receive because they have dense root mats that help control the soils amount of moisture evaporation and wind erosion.

And also the grassland in many locations are overlaying large deposits of loess, a wind blow silt from far away locations that covered vast areas of Asia and the American Midwest during the past glacial periods that occurred periodically over the last several million years. The grasslands were growing as these layers were accumulating making these areas vast depositories of valuable top soil.

edit: spelling.

Edited by arc

Hi dreamer,

I'm far from an expert in this but there are clues to these environs that can be ascertained when closely compared to the surrounding regions. The great American grasslands are located on the leeward side of the Rocky Mountains that are high enough to limit great amounts of rainfall, the mountains take most of this rain as snow.