"Simulated" visual, auditory and tactile sensation.

Hi all, this is my first post here. I am a layman and this question is inspired by my curiosity about music and perception thereof particularly, but encompasses more than that.

First, I'd like you to recall your favourite song. You will probably "hear" the correct intervals between the notes (even if you don't get it in the right key), the approximate rhythm, and the correct octave placement of each note. You can hum it out loud, tap your feet to the rhythm, perhaps even harmonise with that imagined music.

My question relates to that experience- the experience of simulating that memorised musical phrase, or perhaps embellishing it. When you do this, is it "sensing", or not? If so, what is being sensed? Without meaning to inappropriately stain this question with religious dogma, I think it would be interesting to look to eastern (primarily Buddhist) conceptions of sensing, as they count "mind" as being a sense. Could such a view be sustained in light of what we know to be the case about the brain?

To take a further departure, my father has schizoaffective disorder. I'm interested in the nature of his auditory hallucinations. On a physical level, what differs between our simulation of a sound, and the auditory hallucination of sound/s people with certain psychopathologies experience?

I'm becoming acutely aware of how disjointed my questions are, so I'll attempt to summarise them in clear fashion:

1. How do we simulate visual, auditory and haptic sensation?

2. Does such simulation in any meaningful way qualify as a "sense"? That is, are we "sensing" that simulation?

3. How does pathological hallucination differ from normal simulation in terms of brain behaviour?

Thanks.