Why does sound travel at a different speed through different gasses?

Ceasium

Hey,

I am currently studying for my physics exam, but this has nothing to do with my homework. Whilst learning I was wondering why sound travels at different speeds through different gasses.

At 273 K all the gasses have + - the same amount of molecules per m3. So in my 'logic' thinking the molecules would pass on the waves at the same speed, because of the same molecule density. But apparently this is not the case.

T= 273K

Speed of sound through:

Helium: 0.965 * 103 m*s-1

CO2: 0.259 * 103 m*s-1

Air : 0.332 * 103 m*s-1

I could not get a nice answer with google, so could someone properly explain to me why sound does this?

Hey,

I am currently studying for my physics exam, but this has nothing to do with my homework. Whilst learning I was wondering why sound travels at different speeds through different gasses.

At 273 K all the gasses have + - the same amount of molecules per m3. So in my 'logic' thinking the molecules would pass on the waves at the same speed, because of the same molecule density. But apparently this is not the case.

T= 273K

Speed of sound through:

Helium: 0.965 * 103 m*s-1

CO2: 0.259 * 103 m*s-1

Air : 0.332 * 103 m*s-1

I could not get a nice answer with google, so could someone properly explain to me why sound does this?

Thanks smile.png

Is it a difference of the molecular kinetic energy when a gas density is varied?

The speed seems to decrease exponentially when the gas becomes heavier per m3. So I can conclude that this has to do with inertia -The heavier the gas the more 'slowly' the molecules bump into each other, and the sound travels more slowly. Is this the right conclusion?

Can I state as well that the Ekin of sound is the same in every gass?

Ekin= 1/2 * m * v2 .

Edit : - Thanks Alpha & Swansont

Edited by Ceasium

When the gas density varies, the kinetic energy is changed differently.