Differential equation

Roark

Hi,

I'm just starting to do differential equations and I'm stuck on this one:

(y^2 - x^2)dy - 2xydx = 0

Ans: x^2 +y^2 - cy = 0

How do I separate the variables? What's the intergrating factor?

Thanks!

i've been playing with this one for about 15 minutes now and i can't seem to make any inroads into it myself, so i thought i'd check back here to check the formula is correct. the formula you've given strictly speaking isn't an actual differential equation, but i gathered the formula you want solved is:

(y^2 - x^2)dy/dx - 2xy = 0

i've tried this and although i'm no beginner to differential equations, i'm no expert either :) i can't see any way of seperating the variables as it stands, and if you are a beginner to differential equations, i highly recommend you go and find some more examples, as this one appears to be quite difficult.

on the other hand, i may have missed something extremely obvious.

That's the equation that's given in the book. Is this a valid approach?

(y^2 - x^2)dy = 2xydx

(y^2 - x^2)dy/dx = 2xy

(y^2 - x^2)dy/dx = x

--------------

2y

Intergrate both sides: (y^2 - x^2)/2y= 1/2x^2 + C

Intergrate both sides: (y^2 - x^2)= yx^2 + C

(somehow reduces to?)

Ans: x^2 +y^2 - cy = 0

you're okay until you get to this line:

Originally posted by Roark

Intergrate both sides: (y^2 - x^2)/2y= 1/2x^2 + C

and then you meet the problem, how do you integrate something with respect to x and y, which you can't in this particular instance. i'd get another question personally :)

• 3 months later...
Originally posted by Roark

Thanks!

dy / dx = y'

y'(y^2 - x^2) - 2xy = 0

Is in the form of

M(x, y) + N(x, y)y' = 0

My(x, y) = -2x

Nx(x, y) = -2x

My = Nx --> So, we know that this is an exact differential equation.

Originally posted by Aleph-Null

dy / dx = y'

y'(y^2 - x^2) - 2xy = 0

Is in the form of

M(x, y) + N(x, y)y' = 0

My(x, y) = -2x

Nx(x, y) = -2x