Learning GC MS - best practices and advice needed

tuprox

I have a business opportunity which requires the results of a GC/MS to be successful. It is basically testing medications for their active compound and the potency of the compound. This is legal in the place/country in which I am looking for the type of substance I am planning on testing. All in all there will probably be about 40 different types of substance derivitaves which I will be testing for, most either in a carrier oil with a small amount of solvent or in a powder form with some form of binder. So that is what I would like to do, test the samples customers send in and publish the findings online.

I have no experience with GC/MS and I need to know where to start. I have a little chemistry background and an very good with technology (I work in the IT/IS field for a living, so I will pick up the procedure pretty quickly I would guess). What I need to know is how difficult is the testing for this kind of setup and can it be taught to a lab technician and assistant? Does one need a chemistry degree to do the testing or will a few classes in Chem be enough to understand the principles of what is going on.

My final question is about the GC/MS library of which I can compare results to to find out what the substance is. How do I get this and is there a way to buy specific examples of medications for a base line comparison? Let's say I want to test over the counter supplements and the library doesn't include them. Is there a way to obtain a base sample and use that for future comparison?

I'd love to learn more about GC/MS so if anyone can advise of something to read or point me in the right direction I would be greatly appreciative of any input. Also is LC/MS similar or possibly the way I want to go?

Finally, I will need to buy the machine and library on a budget so I would like to get some ideas on how I can find something like this for a good deal. Does anyone have any ideas on this?