Spread of a Disease or Virus

Kage Kazumi

Reader,

I am a writer/student working on a novel that needs to spread a disease/virus all across the world (or most of it) and infecting millions of people world wide. I have been discussing this with fellow writers to see what would be the best way to do this. At first I thought of food, but had issues with food being sold and shipped world wide. One idea proposed was to use Mosquitos.

A group of people could be infected with 'said unknown disease' and each person goes back home where their local Mosquitos feed on a few of them and spread it that way. I even threw in the idea of adding other blood sucking insects like the Kissing Bug, Ticks, and Bed Begs to help spread said disease.

Do you think this would be a believable way to spread a disease or do you think people could contain it to fast?

v/Respectfully,

Kage

There are several issues with that from a biological viewpoint. For instance, you will find different mosquito species in different regions. So the virus or whatever would have to survive the digestive passage of very different species, which is somewhat tricky. The easiest would be spread by aerosols between humans (e.g. by body fluids such as saliva) with a long incubation time.

Hi- I'm not much for the writing type so I just kinda put together my ideas/life example in the hope that they would be helpful to you :)