Separation of microbes

Hi all!

I am an undergraduate student at a college in Albany. I am currently running a research experiment studying biofilm formations. However I have run into a roadblock which I hope you can all help me with..

I have cultured Streptococcus Epidermis and Staphylococcus Aureus from environmental samples i took. I used Manitol salt agar plates to culture them. However, the problem i am running into now is that my S. Aureus sample also contains some species of Cornyebacterium. I cannot manage to separate these two microbes. The great tragedy of all of this is that i will eventually have to culture these two microbes together later on in the experiment, but for right now i need to obtain pure cultures.

If anyone knows of a way to separate these two organisms i would be greatly appreciative ( + 100 win! to the answerer ) weather it be a special type of agar or broth, or some kind of external chemical that i could introduce....

=) Thank you! I can't get to wait to know you all better on the forums.

-Xenologist

Simple aseptic technique and streaking for isolation should allow you to isolate these bugs from each other. The colonial morphology should be distinct enough - but you could also perform Gram stain as cellular morphology is also distinctive.

I assume you meant Stephylococcus epidermidis -I'm not aware there is a "Streptococcus epidermidis."

Simple aseptic technique and streaking for isolation should allow you to isolate these bugs from each other. The colonial morphology should be distinct enough - but you could also perform Gram stain as cellular morphology is also distinctive.

I assume you meant Stephylococcus epidermidis -I'm not aware there is a "Streptococcus epidermidis."

Sorry - meant Staphylococcus epidermidis