Stupid question about wind turbines

BlackSabb

Hi everyone. I have a stupid question about those giant 3 fan blade wind turbines. Before I start, I'm not an engineer or anything like that. I work in the health field actually, but I had a thought that has been bugging me for ages.

I heard someone say that one of those giant wind turbines can generate electrical power to supply 1000 homes. Now let for argument sake, we say that each wind turbine generates 1 million watts (1 megawatt). Please excuse me if that figure is way off, (it most probably is) but it's an easy round number for the purposes of this argument.

What I was thinking was this. How much power would it take for an electrical motor to turn the wind turbine? I'm sure you're thinking "well what's the point of that?". What I was thinking is that it would not take the combined electrical output of 1000 homes to turn that wind turbine. In other words, even though a wind turbine can produce 1 million watts, it wouldn't take that much energy to turn it electrically (instead of the wind). Let's say for argument that it takes 200 000 watts of energy to turn it.

So in other words, you could get far more energy than you put in. I drive by these windmills all the time and as I gaze upon it, I can't imagine that it takes the energy of 1000 homes to turn one.

So what is wrong with this theory? As I said, I'm not an engineer so I'm sure I've stated some obvious blunder. But this has been bugging me for ages, so I'm just dying to know.

Thank you.

You can not produce more energy from a system then it would thermodynamically allow. The energy you input in to work the generator would not break even, let alone produce extra.

If you are generating excess power then you either store or sell the extra depending on your needs.

If the turbine produces a MegaWatt of electricity, then you know for sure it takes more than a MegaWatt to turn it (under whatever set of conditions you have).