relative rotation

nm-8

Hi!

I'm studying physics for quite some time, and some time ago a thought popped up in my head....:

In classical distance measurement (Einstein, 1905) a lightsignal is emitted, and the time delay "T" is measured, it takes to reflect at a distance "X".

Einstein said the observer has orientation with the starfield surrounding him. I'd like to ignore this assumption. So let's say it's dark and cloudy within a cosmic nebular. And an observer flying there wants to measure the distance to the (dark) spaceship next to him.

He send a lightsignal, and gets it back, after T. All fine.

But what if he recieves it from a different angle, than he emitted the lightsignal?

Is a rotation of the observer the only cause that leads to an open angle between emission and absorption? Remember, that in a moving frame, a double mirror reflecting light between the mirrors, also an angle (>0) appears... So can the observer be certain, that a simple Rotation of the observer took place?

(I'm talking about pointlike (quantum acting) lightsignals. nothing continouus... so the observer can't just differnetiate the signals...)

any suggestions? I know that's actually not a yes/no question, but did you ever hear of such thoughts? Are there papers on that subject ("relativity without starfield"), to learn more in that subject?

An accellerating frame means an "already made" measurement, to submit a frame (coordinate system). But I'm talking about the local process of building a frame.

where local means at the place of the observer

For example, you wont find a difference if the observer makes (or doesn't make) a whole revolution, while the signal (h) emitts, reflects at the starship, and get absorbed by the observer again.

or two revolutions, or three... he will always get the photon from the same angle, at the same time, hence can't differ...and will build the same coordinatespace, to react on.