strong force of a nucleus

Guest femaleengineer

Guest femaleengineer

I have a question about the strong force of an atom's nucleus. I am an 8th grade student who is in love with science. A question was thrown my way asking what I think would happen if the strong force of an atom was very very strong. I said that protons of many atoms would attract and the opposite of the big bang theory would happen and all of the matter in the universe would form one huge atom with one huge nucleus. I then stated that usually atoms with that big of a nucleus, even with a strong force, were radioactive and would break apart. My teacher was quick to correct me and say that was not true. I am pretty naive on this subject, but I wanted to know what other people thought of this question.

What would happen if the strong force of a nucleus was 'super' strong?

matter favors equilibrium; a molecule at that virtually implausible state would be immediately reduced to more stable conditions.

I will however state one subject i heard, that a certain celestial body of matter was composed, or believed to be, of entirely quarks. yes, quarks. Altho it is not a direct answer to your question, it is the same idea.

The forces that hold nuclei together are rather complicated. Protons and neutrons (both "nucleons") are held together by the "strong force", which tries to hold nucleons together whenever they are closer than about 10^-15 meters apart (0.000000000000001 meters). If any two protons and neutrons are further apart than this, they "can't see one another" with the short-range ties of the strong force. This is one of the things that limits the size of nuclei.

Also, notice that a nucleus with protons in it is positively charged. Since "like charges repel" electrically, any nucleus with protons in it will be trying to push itself apart via electrical forces.