Non-fossil based fuels

Guest jukester

Guest jukester

Hi, I'm a writer, not a science-type person. I'm hoping someone here can help me out. I'm working on a piece of fiction that takes place in a futuristic time when fossil fuels are not available (either by depletion, lack of access or perhaps cultural taboo; I've not determined).

My question is this: What other fuels, not based on petroleum, would be available to this society?

Guest jukester

What is acetylene made from? (I need a fuel that can power a welder.)

Ethanol these days is mixed with gasoline; can it be used in pure form?

What about hydrogen-powered cars? Are they dependent on petroleum-based products?

The comment about cow manure has a serious side. It can be burned to generate electricity, or it can be composted, and the methane gas can generate electricity also.

it`ll be Calcium Carbide in the bangsite :)

the ony drawback with using it, is that it requires large amounts of electricity to make, so you`de be back to square one.

Oxy-Hydrogen torches are very good at welding or cutting however :)

it could be made to work for sure, a narrow beam Microwave transmition being picked up by horn antennas and then converted back to electricity. the idea`s perfectly sound, HOWEVER... I wouldn`t want to live anywhere near the bugger!

there`s enough worries about the simple radiation from mobile fones and repeater masts, Imagine what something like that could do if it went wrong!? I have a feeling it would also effect the weather somewhat also, I could be wrong, but we all know what microwaves do to water and we all know what clouds are made off! :)

Guest jukester

What about plastics or plastic-like materials? Vinyl? What are they made from?

I hadn't thought of microwaves, radio waves or anything like that... The story I'm writing is about a small colony with limited industrial capabilities... there's an emphasis on using recyclable materials. No mining, limited use of raw materials. If possible. :)