our ancestors are not supposed to be the apes or of some same kind!

hello to all there lovely biologists

i dont have much knowledge about our ancestors neither i ever studied much about it but a bit interested in

recently i studied an opposition to the Darwin's theory that our ancestors are supposed to be the mammals living in the water the reason behind this argument is that iif it were apes or monkeys then how could they breed the generation of same kind throughout the world as they could not travel all around in that era instead water organism could travel easily from continent to continent and they only have to change the fins into hands a little more genetic change

i m confused i neither satisfied with Darwin nor i pursue such above argument so what could likely be our ancestors according to science?

thanx

i dont even think you considered your response. is is not possible by yout very own argument that such aquatic lifeforms evolved into apes and then into humans. heres a diagram:

aquatic lifeforms ---> humans HUGE GAP

aquatic lifeforms -- ............. ---> Apes -----> Humans

evolution even though discreet can be though of as continous, there is no disctinct point in which one form becomes another. evolution is complex and a huge jump from an aquatic form to a human is not happening.... there are just too many features to adapt at once.

besides there are many ways in which the ancestors to humans could have traveled.

.... there are just too many features to adapt at once.

and here we find a common fallacy. it doesn't get adapted at once.