magnetic fields and electron kinetic energy

Neil9327

15 years ago when I was a physics student I wondered whether for a coil with a dc current flowing through it the energy contained within the resultant magnetic field is equal to the kinetic energy of the electrons flowing around that coil.

Since then Ive worked in sales and computing, and have forgotton all my favourite theories that would have allowed me to calculate it.

Does anyone know the answer?

Even I don't fully understand this. Yet I'll attempt.

For the energy in the magnetic field - this would be measured as energy density(in atmospheres/pressure).

I don't know if there is a connection to kinetic energy.

0.5 x (mass of electrons in coil) x (velocity of electrons in coil)^2 =

x no. of atmospheres

I mean - this energy density would have to be converted into joules (energy). That impossible.

Are you asking if there is a relation between the potential energy of a particle in the magnetic field and the kinetic energy of the electrons flowing through the coil? If that is what you are saying then I am sure there is a way to figure out a relation between the current in the wire and the position and charge of the particle.

I was thinking of the scenario where you have a DC current running through a coil which is one side of a transformer. A static magnetic field runs round the ferrous core of the transformer, and if my memory serves me right this has a specific number of joules of energy associated with it. This energy can be seen when the DC current is shut off - the field causes a current to flow in the other side of the coil (assuming its ends are connected across a resistor) supplying voltage and current (this principle being used when AC current sends a continuous power across).

I'm remembering a little more now: A coil has an inductance L, and the energy carried in the field is half L i squared (where i is the current).