Carbon

NavajoEverclear

I read in my biologu book that carbon(and other elements that compose life, besides water) is not a very abundant element on earth, and yet we are made of it, so where does it come from? Well since we eat other things, it comes from them, but where to plants get theirs from? I know photosythesis preforms chemical reactions, but it obviously doesn't transform more abundant elements into the one we use (that would require nuclear power right?). So i think the soil is made of carbon (a stupid thing to say, it must be, but give me a break, i'm an undilligent highschool student), so plants get nutrients from soil. Where did all the soil come from? Far as i know its mostly decayed stuff broken down, but first you have to have things to decay, for them to die they must first live, to live they must eat, which esentially comes from plants who get their carbon from the soil which is made of something decayed. Is there there is some explanation for the evolution of soil, or whatever has played its role throughout history as the reserve of nutrients?

So either i must be missing something or it is an incredible miracle that such a rare (i aughta look up exactly how rare before i start rambling) element gather itself together conviniently to feed life.

Plant's get their carbon from the Air (in the form of carbon dioxide.)

Even though carbon is fairly rare as elements go, there is more than enough to support the plant and animal life of the Earth with some left over. (it continuely gets recycled).

Long before we could use up all the carbon making up living matter, we'd run out of phosphorus, an element living tissue need's to run its metabolism. As far as life goes, it is the true bottleneck.

The reason carbon forms the backbone of life, despite its rareity, is because it forms complex chains so readily.