Undergraduates writing a non-clinical systematic review paper in the biomedical or biological sciences? What about a "mock" clinical review paper?

HEK-293-DDR1b

Hello forum community,

As a pre-med/pre-science student, I have found that reading literature, writing reflectively on the content in summary, and being able to synthesize data and findings to identify knowledge gaps and develop "research-able" questions are fundamental to the thinking required in medical school and beyond. In fact, I have written two successful grant applications in the materials sciences which apply the same rules.

My question here, anyhow, was directed to synthesizing a review paper for the biological or biomedical sciences (I feel less experienced/underqualified to write a clinical review paper that's meaningful). I understand what goes into a review paper--design the lit search, database diversity, exclusion criteria, quality test, etc... and register the protocol with PRISMA--though I was more concerned with how feasible this is for an undergraduate to design, register, write, and submit a systematic review into an undergraduate or professional academic journal.

A secondary question I had relates to writing "mock review papers." Like a prelaw student participating in "mock" trials, I was curious whether writing a mock clinical review paper would help make my experiences competitive for MD/PhD (MSTP) applications. Of course, other experiences are more critical than this alone, but would this be something worth mentioning to display interest and experience?

All in all, I have found that writing a systematic review paper leads you to learn A LOT about a particular field, whether the quality of the paper itself is publishable or not. It also allows you to practice designing research-able questions for your own future directions etc.

Please let me know what the forum community thanks! I am also open to collaborating with anyone writing review papers themselves

With Gratitude,