Working in a lab?...

Guest Yostercoaster

Guest Yostercoaster

hey all, new to the site...2nd year college student here, declared bio major, and planning a life of serious research in genetics.

Problem: will I get tired/bored of working in a lab all day?

I love learning about bio, but not sure how I feel about spending my life in a sterile fluorescent-lit, room surrounded by glass beakers and test tubes. Does it ever get depressing?

~sincerely concerned

Yes you get depressed occasionally...but that's true of all jobs. And you get the blues when stuff doesn't work...but if you enjoy problem solving and trouble shooting that's OK. There is no job on this planet that doesn't have it's down side and unless you work outdoors you will be surrounded by glass, walls etc. anyway....maybe just replace the test-tubes with computers or whatever else. I am a research scientist and I love bench science but all jobs have their down-side.

Very true. All jobs have a downside. However, boredom isn't a function of where you work, it's a function of what you do. If you are doing what you really want to do, it won't matter too much where you do it.

Its not really where you work that would matter wether you get bored or not. You get used to it over time. Its what you are doing. If you working on something that might change the coruse of human history, and you almost got it solved, then you wouldn't even notice where youare working. You wouldn't care.

And look at the bright side of working in a lab. Everthings sterile...:D

Originally posted by KHinfcube22

Its not really where you work that would matter wether you get bored or not. You get used to it over time. Its what you are doing. If you working on something that might change the coruse of human history, and you almost got it solved, then you wouldn't even notice where youare working. You wouldn't care.

Maybe you should try working somewhere for a significant period of time before you try giving people advice on the same.