Controlling for lifestyle factors in epidemiological studies

Isaacson

A glance at any official health bodies advice will show that we are entreated to eat more healthily, take more exercise and reduce stress. Presumably, there is some reasonable evidence that these factors play a relatively significant role in disease formation and response (otherwise, one would presume they would not be within the remit of such organisations).

In what little opportunity I've had to read primary research on medical testing, however (I'm a statistician, not a biologist), I've not come across any attempt at stratification for these factors.

If one is, say, testing the response to a new medicine, presuming these factors will promote recovery in your test subjects, then the apparent efficacy of the medicine might be effected by the distribution of these "lifestyle" factors within your test and control groups.

Similarly, on the other side of the coin, if you are testing the response to a new health threat by epidemiological study, a quoted Odds Ratio of 1.2 might be quite radically different for individuals of different general health, yet (in the studies I've read) there seems to be simply a presumption that the control group and the test group will have a similar spread of lifestyles.

It certainly seems to be a relevant factor in some cases as individuals with a history of smoking are almost always controlled for in such epidemiological studies (especially related to lung conditions), but I have never come across similar treatment of individuals in high stress jobs, eating fewer than 5 fruit and veg per day, taking less than three hours exercise a week etc.