my brain.

quickquestion

3 days ago I was watching the Librarian. In there there was a math genius, her name was Cassandra, and she sounds like Pinkie Pie. The secret of why she is good at math is because she has a Tumor in her brain. In one episode there are 3 Ladies of the Lake. I thought they were Sirens, but I guess they are not sirens. That night, I went to bed and I was suddenly feeling good at math. I went to bed and I started doing equations in my head. I self-taught myself some equations and discovered the answer to the equations. I realized that if you plot the functions the cross of the lines will tell you the result of the variable. For example, if you have an equation c=(c-1)/3 to find out c you plot the functions. I figured this out on my own. But I am wondering, is there a different way to do this that doesn't require you to plot the functions (because by hand, or by mind, you may lose some accuracy in certain equations with graph paper alone.)