Electrolytic Etching

Juless

Hello In new here and I hope this is the right place to post

I found this forum while I was looking for some information about what was actually happening chemically when I did this project.

I am an art student and wanted to try etching designs into copper by the electrolysis method.

My set up was a DCell battery 1.5 volt. connected to a Copper object to etch on the positive end with and another piece of copper on the negative end. I placed them into a salt water solution of 180 grams salt to 500 mls water.

I would like to know what the brown and blue stuff is in the water I will attach a picture also I would like to know if any of the chemicals or gas emitted are toxic.

post-116723-0-51826800-1459915125.jpeg

Is the salt, table salt, that is NaCl?

Did you use distilled water?

The red is probably copper oxide.

The blue might be copper hydroxide.

Black may be another copper oxide.

If your water has chlorine in it, you probably have some copper chloride (two kinds like copper oxide).

The bubbles are probably hydrogen, which is is very flammable...explosive.

The water may contain NaOH (lye) if you use chlorinated water.

There are some good chemists here that will point out any mistakes or omissions I've made.

Edited by EdEarl

Hi

Thank you for your reply EdEarl.

I used table salt and demineralised water. I had a feeling that there would be hydrogen and maybe oxygen coming out of the water.

I was really mostly concerned that it might be chlorine gas. Is there a possibility that the sodium chloride is breaking down to make that.

Also I was reading around this forum and found a topic about this where jdurg says in the thread

More copper electrolysis fun!

The electrolysis of an NaCl (Sodium Chloride) solution produces chlorine gas and sodium hydroxide. As the copper metal corrodes away, the copper ions will react with the free OH- ions forming Cu(OH)2 which will precipitate out of solution.