Basic Calculus/Algebra Problem

Hello,

I'm new to this forum so if I'm breaking the rules by posting in the wrong place etc then please correct me.

I'm a British student studying Chemistry in Chinese in Xiamen University in China.

I've been re-capping my Chinese language for the past year and nI have just started my degree this year.

I only have two subjects this semester - Calculus and Inorganic Chemistry, whilst the Chinese students have additional subjects: Marxism, Army training, etc.

My point is that I havn't studied Mathematics or Chemistry for a while so I need some help, hence why I joined this forum.

Here is my problem:

Prove that if c>0

Then \lim_{x-c}\sqrt{x}=\sqrt{c}

I understand the calculus and the method of how to prove it, I suppose my problem is just that I 've forgotten how to expand square roots. Please explain it to me.

Thanks.

You missed something out of the limit.

I presume you mean

[math]\mathop {\lim }\limits_{x \to \infty } \frac{{x - c}}{{\sqrt x }}[/math]

[math] = \mathop {\lim }\limits_{x \to \infty } [/math][math]\left( {\left( {\sqrt x } \right) - \frac{c}{{\sqrt x }}} \right)[/math]

I can't see you would need an epsilon-delta proof for Chemistry so what methods do you know for taking limits?

Edited by studiot

Can you state the question in words?

We can put it into maths symbols later.

Its a requirement for everyone to take a calculus class for all subjects, not quite sure why.

Its a requirement for everyone to take a calculus class for all subjects, not quite sure why.

Many areas of university Chemistry require the use of calculus.