A pythagorean conundrum

I am currently studying Turing machines and I have set myself the following problem

Using Pythagorian theory

Adjacent side = 12 inches

Opposite = 12 inches

Therefore hypononuse =19.7 (approx)

Adjacent = 1 foot

Opposite = 1 foot

therefore hypotonuse = square root of 2 which is a non computable 'irrational number'

Same triangle - same dimensions

First example - computable, second non computable - but the are the same.

Go easy on me - my maths is not great... simple explanation appreciated. :)

Zero

Edited by ZeroZero

That's the beauty

If you take a circle

1. say the radius is 1, then the perimeter (2Pi) is irrational

or

2. say the perimeter is 1, then the radius (1/2Pi) is irrational.

There is no absolute irrational, there is only irrationality relative to something. Pi is irrational relatively to number one AKA it cannot be described by a fraction. And as you must know, you need 2 numbers at least to make a fraction.

For example, you can cut a string and decide arbitrarily the the length of the string will be Pi in some new weird unit system. Then curve the string in a circle, find the diameter: it is the number one in your weird unit system.

It's all relative.

Does that help?

Edited by michel123456

Hey ZeroZero :)

Let's take a look at what you said... (if you find the math below intimidating, don't worry; it always looks scary when it actually represents a simple geometric situation)

• The first right triangle has legs of 12 units and 12 units.

• The second right triangle has legs of 1 unit and 1 unit.

Now, these triangles are not the same, as you said. They do not have the exact same dimensions. But, they are similar, meaning their dimensions are proportional. You're implying that they're congruent, which in this case would result in [math]12=1[/math] D: