ANSI C C89 programming - help finding descriptions

PaulS1950

I am new to ANSI C and want to use it to write some programs for personal use - and release them into the open source domain.

Where can I find descriptions and syntax for the macros and functions in the thirteen standard header files?

I am an old guy (61) and have used some C before but it has been so long that I have forgotten just about everything I once learned.

I have gleaned a lot from the internet but I am getting tired of looking up each function to learn how to use it.

A second question: Is there any way to get a one keystroke input from the keyboard in ANSI C like I could get with getch() in the "old days"?

Thanks for your time,

Paul

There's always wikipedia ANSI C

It's getchar() now

Getchar() requires you to hit <enter> after you type the character - that is two keystrokes.

Thanks for the reply but I was asking if there is a way to get a one "single" keystroke entry in ANSI C.

I have been using Wikipedia but you have to select each header file for the different functions or macro and then click on it for the definition and syntax.

Going through three different windows, starting with the header file, to get each function's use and syntax.

There has to be somewhere that these are listed by the function or macro name with the syntax and the header file in which they are found, I hope.

You may have answered my second question - there is no way to get single key inputs in ANSI C....

Thanks for your time,

Paul

I've little to no experience with c, but a quick cast around the internet turned up this:

http://www.utas.edu....n/C/CStdLib.htm

Also if you're on some form of unix, chances are you can use 'man stdio', 'man sprintf' or similar to bring up the relevant docs locally.

And the prevailing opinion on a good answer to your second question seems to be to use ncurses (if you want to do it fairly portably):

http://www.delorie.c...s_getch.3x.html