Synthesis of Oxalic acid from Vitamin C

Toothpick93

Ascorbic Acid -> Oxalic Acid

So there was a thread about decomposition of ascorbic acid on ScienceMagness.org and a user said

Quote: Originally posted by Sriraman lastpost.gifThe path way of decomposition of Ascorbic acid is Ascorbic acid to Dehydroascorbic acid to 2,5 Diketogulonic acid and then to oxalic acid and L-threonic acid. you can guess which gives yellow colour-possibly 2,5 diketogulonic acid due to its two ketonic functions

Ascorbic Acid is readily valuable from health stores as Vitamin C but most of the time it isn't 100% Ascorbic Acid, my tablets that my family get has Sodium Ascorbate also in it so i could probably dissolve the whole tablet into water and acidify the water to turn Sodium Ascorbate into ascorbic acid and a sodium salt... and then cool the solution to crystallize out the acid.

Now im a noob to how to do organic chemistry so i don't know how things take place but i think i figured out the equation to what is needed.

C6H8O6 = C6H6O6 + H2

The first equation is a reduction, KMnO4 can be used to reduce it to Dehydroascorbic acid and Hydrogen Gas but how would u then separate the contaminates from the chemicals we want?

C6H6O6 + H2O + C6H8O7

Now because the first reaction will contain water it will most likely go straight to the second reaction which hydrates it to 2,5 diketogulonic acid which would then maybe follow on to the next reaction as 2,5 diketogulonic acid reacts with the water to form Oxalic Acid and L-threonic acid

5 C7H8O7 + 7 H2O = 3 H2C2O4 + 6 C4H8O5

So would the reaction play out on its own? id really like to know more about this smile.gif