Acid Rain

Monster92

So, how does Sulphur trioxide form in the atmosphere and where does it come from? I'm getting confused between Sulphur dioxide and trioxide.

Also, what does phyotoxicity mean?

What does my text book mean by this "deflocculation and acidification of soils"

Thank you in advanced, I'm studying for a test which is later in the year.

Sulfur trioxide is formed when sulfur dioxide, given off by combustion of fossil fuels, is oxidised by free hydroxyl radicals in the atmosphere. Read the details here.

Flocculation is the process by which particles aggregate to form clumps, so deflocculation of soil is the breaking up of clumps of soil particles. Acidification is obviously the soil becoming more acidic.

Sulphur has multiple origins... but a lot of it comes from exhaust gases.

Both crude oil and coal contain a lot of sulphur (up to 1% wt). In modern refineries this sulphur is removed so that the cars can burn sulphur-free fuels. In power plants, the sulphur is removed from the flue gas. SO2 is what is found in the flue gas.

I believe that the SO2 can react to SO3 in the presence of ozone. This SO3 can then react with water to form H2SO4, which makes the rain acidic.

Either way, its not so sexy any more to talk about acid rain as it was in the 80's. Now its GW (global warming).......And GW is morphing into climate change. Next week, it may be called something else........

BTW, anybody know it the black forest in Germany that was reportedly affected by "acid rain" has recovered? Just curious.

Acid rain is less of an issue because it has been significantly mitigated in the US by a successful cap and trade scheme. I am not concerned about the terminology used for global warming, this issue is only important in popular culture. SM