Got an BS in Biochm. Now what? MBA or PhD?

chakbana

Hello everyone,

I am a biochemistry major and I will be graduating this coming December. My GPA is 3.5 (due to a bad year because of personal problems) and I have been doing research since 2006, thus, as you can tell, I have a lot of research experience in areas like organic chemistry, immunology, molecular bio. and biochemistry.

I had planned to start applying for my PhD now, during this fall semester, to start the PhD program on Fall 2011. However, lately I have been considering the option of getting a MBA instead. Actually, my boyfriend was the one who came out with the suggestion of getting an MBA because I was telling him that I was getting bored at my current job (in a biochemistry lab). His reasoning is the following: if am getting bored now, how will it be during my PhD years? or as regular job? and by getting an MBA, I would have two job options, being capable of doing research with my BS in biochemistry or administrative work with the MBA.

To be honest, after that moment I have not been able to sleep thinking about that. I am so confused right now. Should I still go for my PhD or should I go for the MBA? Do you really think it is worthy to get a PhD if I do not want to be a professor? Please help me to make a final decision. I need to start filling out my graduate school applications and I do not even know if I should study for GREs or the GMAT because I so confused about my future right now. What do you think? MBA or PhD? I really need fresh ideas and to hear others' opinions.

Thanks!