Are Negative Emotions Causing You To Get Sick?

I challenge this assertion:

Studies show that 85% of all disease is rooted in our emotions.

Source: http://bosanchez.ph/are-negative-emotions-causing-you-to-get-sick/

While it is well known that one's emotional state has a profound effect on health, I am skeptical that 85% of all disease is caused by negative emotional states.

I will appreciate if somebody can provide me with adequate, peer-reviewed proof to convince me that the vast majority of diseases are psychosomatic in origin. I do not challenge the existence of psychosomatic illnesses - their existence is well documented. While I'm not a medical doctor and I have no counter proof, my experience and reason tell me that this assertion is false.

Otherwise "psychological" , "emotional" one and the same.

I've read the following article, but did not see where the authors cited that most diseases are rooted in the emotions. At the beginning of the article, the authors stated that "somataform" disorders are "common," but do not say how common. "Common" could be 20% of disorders, or 90% of disorders.

http://www.uwo.ca/fammed/ian/somatizationmain.htm

I think the important parts of this article is that Western science needs to integrate the psychological aspects of care with the physical aspects of care. In other words, I don't think the authors believe that emotions are the cause of most diseases, but rather the most effective care integrates caring for biological as well as psychological aspects of patient care.

If somebody can find adequate proof, then I will accept the premise.

Edited by needimprovement

its hardly a reputable source on health matters.

the primary causes of disease are microbes.

yes, your emotions do play a role as they can affect the performance of your immune system, but this requires studies of hundreds of people to extract a signal.