Rest mass

Kaeroll

This may be in the wrong forum, but I'm told it's due to relativity, so this seems a decent place to put it...

Occasionally as a chemist I have to deal with - eek - maths, some of which involve electron rest mass (for example). My question is, how is this measured? It seems absurd to suggest somehow isolating and 'freezing' an electron in its tracks, so I can only assume it's an extrapolation. It's something I've been curious about for some time.

On a related note - why do we use 'rest' as a point of reference, if it is (as I assume above) strictly hypothetical? Why not the mass at a given energy?

Math welcome in answers, though commentary would be appreciated...

Kaeroll

Occasionally as a chemist I have to deal with - eek - maths, some of which involve electron rest mass (for example). My question is, how is this measured?

The simplest method probably is shooting a ray of electrons through a (perpendicular) magnetic field, visualizing the paths somehow (e.g. in a bubble chamber), measuring the resulting radii and calculating the mass from them.

On a related note - why do we use 'rest' as a point of reference, if it is (as I assume above) strictly hypothetical? Why not the mass at a given energy? Math welcome in answers, though commentary would be appreciated...

For simplicity, anything said below refers to single free particles. EDIT: Oh, and it also is just an attempt to explain the different meanings/definitions of mass in relativity, not the official physicists definition template or something like that.