What is the ultimate function of education?

peterdasaa

What is the ultimate function of education? I'm always wondering what kind of education do we need. I'm a college student, but the courses offered are so many and the study load is so heavy that I almost have no time to develop my own interest. However, recently there emerges heat discussion about the education's aim: whether it is to elevate the students' quality or to obtain better competence in the job market?

I see it this way:

Life is a series of problems waiting to be solved. Whether they be problems at your job, like "how do we make this sprocket attach to the widget correctly" or "why can't we find the Higgs boson", or at home ("how do I balance my budget this month"), they all take some creative thought. Your education should provide you with the background information required to help you find better solutions to those problems.

Because remember, whatever field you end up in career-wise probably won't follow perfectly from your education. If you get a degree in psychology or English, you probably won't get a job just analyzing people's minds or understanding literature. (Some people do get those jobs, but they're rare.) You use the knowledge you got during your education and apply it to something else. You'll be learning the job-specific details on the job, not at school. School is just for the background information.

What is the ultimate function of education? I'm always wondering what kind of education do we need. I'm a college student, but the courses offered are so many and the study load is so heavy that I almost have no time to develop my own interest. However, recently there emerges heat discussion about the education's aim: whether it is to elevate the students' quality or to obtain better competence in the job market?