My Java Program

DivideByZero

Hi.

I created this Java program where you click around anywhere as many times you want then click calculate. After its done thinking, it will find the pixel closest to all of the places you clicked.

I can't really explain it well so please view my applet

What do you think of it? I'm a new developer so please critique.

I put a map of italy on the background and clicked every city except rome then clicked calculate. And then the closest pixel was very close to rome.

2 tests:

0 points: I was surprised of that a status information (thinking x%) starts to run. Clicking on one of the example pictures to watch them during the (nonsensical) calculation stalled my Firefox.

2 points: After killing FF and restarting, I ran with 2 points. Again, a surprisingly long calculation time (this time not disturbed by me) with a strange result (see attachment). Accidently hit calculate again and tried to close the tab which was honored by yet another stall of FF.

strange_result.png

2 tests:

0 points: I was surprised of that a status information (thinking x%) starts to run. Clicking on one of the example pictures to watch them during the (nonsensical) calculation stalled my Firefox.

2 points: After killing FF and restarting, I ran with 2 points. Again, a surprisingly long calculation time (this time not disturbed by me) with a strange result (see attachment). Accidently hit calculate again and tried to close the tab which was honored by yet another stall of FF.

Sorry for the annoying time.

There is a bug for when you only click 2 points. Clicking 3 or more gives accurate results. And also don't interfere during the run time because its running a very long for-loop. The reason it takes so long is because it goes through every single pixel to find all the distances, then it orders all the distances from lowest to highest and displays the lowest.

The total run time is less than a minute though.