Fire and the Electromagnetic Spectrum

hknight

Hello.

I have an obscure question... I understand that electromagnetic energy spectrum includes everything from Gamma Rays to Radio waves, with x-rays, light and microwaves somewhere in between.

I also understand that fire releases energy. Much of this energy is heat, and some of it is light. In addition to light, what other forms of electromagnetic energy does a fire release?

Does a fire also emit ultra-violet radiation or infrared radiation? What about X rays and Microwaves? Or even radio wave interference?

And what would the distribution of this energy look like on a graph? I have attached an image of what I think it might look like, but I am probably way off base.

Thanks for your thoughts!

fireenergy.gif

energy.gif

it will emit some ultra violet an even some x-rays but the amount is negligble most of the radiation emitted is in the infrared spectrum (heat basically) and there should also be a small amount of microwaves and radio. for the distrobution, look up "boltzman distrobution". the peak depends on the temperature of the fire.

As i_a mentioned, there is a distribution (Maxwell-Boltzmann). You can also search for blackbody and planck curve. In a fire you have a plasma, so there would likely be absorption and/or emission lines on top of the continuous spectrum, corresponding to quantum transitions in the atoms and molecules involved.

Also, you should notice there is no part of the EM spectrum marked "heat." All EM radiation emitted by a normal fire is heat. Typically the bulk of the radiation of what we consider to be hot is in the IR part of the spectrum.

Expanding on what swansont said: