A challenge to science?

I am studying physics. A recent holiday found me in the lab with some laser equipment. Having been facinated with Star Wars from a young age I set about wondering how to make a lightsaber.

The problem is not in the laser beam, but how to stop it at a certain point. One possibility was a mirror on a piece of wire that would be projected under the power of the light photons to the projected length of the retainer.

The other possibilty would be using the same concept, but merely tethering a small black hole to the end to absorb the laser. What problems could this cause? Could it be done?

Sorry if this is the wrong thread, but would love some input.

I am studying physics. A recent holiday found me in the lab with some laser equipment. Having been facinated with Star Wars from a young age I set about wondering how to make a lightsaber.

The problem is not in the laser beam' date=' but how to stop it at a certain point. One possibility was a mirror on a piece of wire that would be projected under the power of the light photons to the projected length of the retainer.

The other possibilty would be using the same concept, but merely tethering a small black hole to the end to absorb the laser. What problems could this cause? Could it be done?

Sorry if this is the wrong thread, but would love some input.[/quote']

Its not really possible to contain light as its unaffected by just about everything of practical use, magnetic fields and the like. Mirrors would be useless because even they can be cut with a lazer of sufficient power.

The black hole idea is rather interesting though - how would you tether it and how would you make it move with the waepon. Another problem is how would you stop the black hole getting bigger and absorbing things other then what you want it to absorb?

It should also be noted that a small black hole would probably evaporate really fast releasing a vast amount of eenergy in the process.

Cheers,

Ryan Jones