Is there a difference between "Call of void" and "intrusive thoughts"?

Edulars

Hi everyone, I'm new here so in case something is wrong I apologize.  When it comes to psychology, I'm a total layman, so the question can be quite simple.  For a long time I believed that the thought of jumping from a very high place (or similar thoughts) was uniquely called "Call of the void" (which is not completely wrong), but today talking to a friend, she tells me that the name of this is actually "intrusive thoughts".  She has a degree in psychology so there's no reason to doubt it, but I'm a little stubborn so I've been trying to look a little bit more about it.  Is there any difference between the two?  Is "Call of the void" a subcategory of "Intrusive Thoughts"?  or is "Call of the void" the "popular" name and "intrusive thoughts" the "scientific" name ?

Since you're a total layman, and she's a psychology graduate, I would go with her opinion. 

I would say that "intrusive thoughts" covers an array of different problems, and "call of the void" would be just one of those. 

Since we evolved from a tree living animal, it's not surprising that we should occasionally get the odd throwback thought of launching into the air. Or is could be a faint whiff of Tourettes, where you get a compusion to do it, because you know you should not. 

2 hours ago, Edulars said:

Is "Call of the void" a subcategory of "Intrusive Thoughts"?  or is "Call of the void" the "popular" name and "intrusive thoughts" the "scientific" name ?