Calculating mass of a substance in solution

Hello everyone!

I am new to chemistry and am working on a question that I got stuck on. If anyone could help me to continue my work, it would be greatly appreciated.

The chemist used a solution of lead nitrate, Pb(NO3)2, with a concentration of 0.025 mol l-1. If they were preparing one litre of this solution, what mass of lead nitrate should they weigh out?

For the initial calculations, I used the relative atomic mass (RAM) for each element and got the result for RMM Pb(NO3)2 = 331

The relative molecular mass of lead nitrate is 331.

The mass of one molecule of lead nitrate is 331 g.

The molar mass of lead nitrate is 331 g mol-1.

I was supposed to use this equation (as that is the only one we were shown, but I am not sure how:

Mass of a substance = (number of moles of substance) x (molar mass of substance)

The concentration mol l-1 is throwing me off too, as surely the mass needs to be in grams in the end.

Can anyone advise me on this matter?

Thank you in advance

Edited by life-is-full-of-questions

29 minutes ago, life-is-full-of-questions said:

Hello everyone!

I am new to chemistry and am working on a question that I got stuck on. If anyone could help me to continue my work, it would be greatly appreciated.

The chemist used a solution of lead nitrate, Pb(NO3)2, with a concentration of 0.025 mol l-1. If they were preparing one litre of this solution, what mass of lead nitrate should they weigh out?

For the initial calculations, I used the relative atomic mass (RAM) for each element and got the result for RMM Pb(NO3)2 = 331

The molar mass of lead nitrate is 331 g mol-1.

I was supposed to use this equation (as that is the only one we were shown, but I am not sure how:

Mass of a substance = (number of moles of substance) x (molar mass of substance)

The concentration mol l-1 is throwing me off too, as surely the mass needs to be in grams in the end.

Can anyone advise me on this matter?