Pyura DNA extraction

Hello everyone.
I started to work in a lab, where the focuses are molecular ecology and evolutive genomic. One of the projects is the genomic characterization of different samples of Pyura Chilensis, because we think that there are different ecotypes among the samples we're studying.
I'm an undergraduate student at Universidad Austral de Chile, currently studying Biochemistry, and my aim into this laboratory and project is to help the team with their biggest problem: obtaining high quality, pure and good concentrations of gDNA from the Pyura samples.
When we extract the DNA, the result is completely degradated DNA (we can tell it by doing the EPs). We've allways used GeneJET Genomic DNA purification Kit (by ThermoFisher), and when we use it on other samples (I mean other species) it works beautifully, so the kit isn't the problem.
We've always used tissue storaged, but the problem always appears even if the samples are one day old (and storaged) or even years old (We use Ethanol 95% for storing, and we wash the samples with Ultra Pure water before starting the procedure with the kit), but the storing method seems to be good for extracting gDNA in other species.
Then, my guess is that the problem is the Pyura itself (lol). So I have to figure out if either the extraction or the storage isn't appropiate for Pyura. I read that this Pyura thing has a lot of cupper within it, then we're going to use a new buffer for storing it (Salt Saturated DMSO, containing EDTA), and I'd like to perform another methods for the DNA purification (something more classic, like phenol/chloroform or something).