Can you help a newbie?

Sunnihippichick

I am preparing to take a pre-algebra class in college. It's been 20 years since I've been in school, and in high school I failed algebra, because of this I have chosen careers that avoided math altogether. I never understood the need for combining letters with numbers. lol. As far as I was concerned, letters are for reading, writing, literature, etc. and numbers are for counting. The whole thing always looked like a jumbled mess and scared the crap out of me. I want to make sure that I have the right instrument for the job. The course simply calls for a Scientific Calculator. I have noticed on here that people have definite preferences about which calculators to use. Since I am a newbie to algebra and will be progressing on from there, I need to know what is the best thing to start out with that will be good for the basics on through to the more complicated classes. My goal is a degree in O.T., so math is a must. The school suggests the TI-84+. How far will that get me? Can I get away with starting out with something higher, will it help me more? I appreciate your advice, but please don't respond as if I am an idiot and talk down to me.

The TI-84+ should be fine for an algebra class, but you may want something with more features if you plan to go into say Physics or take a lot of Calculus classes.

I would make the same recommendation to you that I make to people asking for advice on buying computers. Decide what you need it to do and then buy the equipment that matches those needs.

Personally, I bought a TI-92 back when I was in school. It's an expensive piece of kit (or at least it was 10 years ago), but it came in handy for a lot of classes because of the built in functionality for differentials and integrals. However, I know some schools don't like them because of the built in notepad feature.

Edit to add:

What is O.T. as a major? All I come up with is Occupational Therapy.

Edited by Greg H.